Tuesday, June 26, 2012


Feeling invigorated after lunch, Ate Guy started talking Mario O'Hara, one of her favorite filmmakers. She mentioned a reunion project with the director entitled Sakay Tayo Sa Buwan awaiting her return to the Philippines. Ate Guy was also looking for a clear copy of Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos, her first film with O'Hara. She asked me if I had one and told her I do have a clear copy of the movie which I gave the following day. The Superstar said that there was a little competition between O'Hara and Lino Brocka when it comes to winning awards. Ate Guy said Kapag nanalo ako ng award kay Mario, kailangan manalo din ako sa movie ni Lino! Come to think of it, she won her first major acting award in 1976 and in between those years, Ate Guy didn't make a movie with O'Hara until Kastilyong Buhangin in 1980. On the other hand Brocka's first collaboration with the Superstar was in 1979's Ina Ka Ng Anak Mo. She was probably talking about winning the Urian for Bona and being chosen Best Actress by the Catholic Mass Media Awards the following year for Bakit Bughaw Ang Langit? It's interesting to note that Mario O'Hara started his career with Lino Brocka as an actor in 1971's Tubog Sa Ginto but most memorable of their work as actor and screenwriter would be Tinimbang Ka Ngunit Kulang (1974). According to film critic Noel Vera, Ate Guy first offered Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos to Brocka and the director's response was I don't want to have anything to do with that Superstar! His refusal to take on the project was the beginning of Philippine Cinema's greatest collaborations.

Here's a breakdown of the acting awards the Superstar won for these two brilliant filmmakers:

For Mario O'Hara
Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos (1976) - Urian, Famas
Bakit Bughaw Ang Langit? (1981) - Catholic Mass Media Awards
Bulaklak Sa City Jail (1984) - Metro Manila Film Festival, Famas, Catholic Mass Media Awards

For Lino Brocka
Ina Ka Ng Anak Mo (1979) - Metro Manila Film Festival, Famas
Bona (1980) - Urian

In Memory of Mario O'Hara April 20, 1946-June 26, 2012